Slightly adjust claps and other sounds to make them stand out

Posted on

Sorry I haven’t been posting recently! School has swung into full gear and since I’ve been focusing most of my time on homework and production I’ve been paying very little attention to my blog. That being said I hope to get back into the swing of things with this post!

Today I don’t have much to write about, but I’d like to share with you guys a tip that I found on reddit that has really helped my claps, snares, synths, etc stand out. This is the idea of delaying them a tiny bit before or after the kick.

Not much explanation is really needed to get the idea across to you guys. All it really requires is that you place the transients of the sound you want to stand out a bit before or after the kick. What this will do is allow each sound’s transient to kick in at its own time instead of trying to compete for the same spot (all-the-while still sound like its more or less hitting on beat with the kick).

Just thought I’d share this quick tip with you guys! Again, I’ll try to be posting something new every week.

Have a great week guys!

-DJ Veaux

https://www.facebook.com/djveaux

https://twitter.com/DJVeaux

Leave a comment